EU civil defense exercise for transnational cooperation in case of crisis with use of extended reality

In 2019, 1000 participants trained for an emergency requiring transnational assistance. Extended Reality played a significant role in the realistic representation of the disaster.

Key Benefits

Unprecedented extreme situations, train realistically as a team

Using extended reality environment, fully immersive learning experience

Creation of a digital twin in which an earthquake was simulated.

Better immersion in the exercise for all participants

More effective and efficient training

Teams are perfectly prepared for the Full Scale Exercise (FBX) on site

Challenge

The realistic representation of disasters

The interaction of response teams from different member states in connection with the UCPM (Union Civil Protection Mechanism) and communication with ERCC (Emergency Response Coordination Centre) rarely happens and is therefore difficult in times of crisis.

Furthermore, it is often not possible to realistically represent the inspection of mission-relevant disaster locations during training. USAR units can “only” exercise individual buildings and the overall scenario must be presented during the DBX (Discussion Based Exercise). This results in individual deviations in the presentation of the scenario.

"We now have the ability to realistically train the most extreme situations."

DI Dr. Helmut Aschbacher, MBA, Austrian Red Cross

Solution

The Digital Twin

The use of virtual reality was a fixed and important component for the project implementation. During the DBX, the commanders of the various teams were able to obtain a picture of the situation during a time-limited virtual helicopter flyover. Afterwards, all units reconvened and planned the tactical continuation of the mission with a clearer common situation picture. The immersive experience fostered realistic coordination among the special units and addressed questions such as: Where is the fresh water treatment area  best placed? Which structures are heavily impacted? Or where are other potential hazards to the response teams located, were answered. Furthermore, USAR teams surveyed collapsed buildings to determine their response.

At the DBX and FBX on site in Eisenerz, virtual reality also provided support for the social media teams. News reports from the scene, social media stories of the population, etc. put pressure on the communications teams of the local forces.

Outcome

Real-life training perfectly complemented with Extended Reality

Complex international processes such as the UCPM (Union Civil Protection Mechanism) must be practiced across national borders to ensure that they actually function in an emergency. With the digital twin of Eisenerz as an earthquake area, one gets a visually identical situation for all exercise participants and can thus approach the scenarios more immersively with the same idea. 

The theoretical knowledge of the mechanisms was tested and improved at the DBX and then tested again on site at the FBX.

Learn how XRCONSOLE transform your way of training

Contact our expert team to arrange a free consultation.

EU Zivilschutzübung für die länderübergreifende Kooperation im Krisenfall mit Einsatz von Extended Reality

1000 Beteiligte trainierten 2019 einen Ernstfall, der länderübergreifende Hilfe erfordert. Extended Reality spielte dabei eine maßgebliche Rolle in der realistischen Darstellung der Katastrophe.

Key Benefits

Noch nie da gewesene Extremsituationen, realitätsgetreu im Team trainieren

Mittels Extended Reality Umgebung, volles immersives Lernerlebnis

Erstellung eines digitalen Zwillings, in dem ein Erdbeben simuliert wurde.

Bessere Immersion der Übungsannahme für alle Teilnehmer

Effektiveres und effizienteres Training​

Teams werden perfekt für die Full Scale Exercise (FBX) vor Ort vorbereitet

Challenge

Die realistische Darstellung von Katastrophen

Das Zusammenspiel von Einsatzteams aus den verschiedenen Mitgliedstaaten im Zusammenhang mit dem UCPM (Union Civil Protection Mechanism) und Kommunikation mit ERCC (Emergency Response Coordination Centre) passiert selten und gestaltet sich daher schwierig in Krisenzeiten.

 

Des Weiteren ist die Begehung von einsatzrelevanten Katastrophen-Orten im Training oft nicht realistisch darstellbar. USAR-Einheiten können “nur” einzelne Gebäude beüben und das übergeordnete Gesamtszenario muss im Rahmen der DBX (Discussion Based Exercise) vorgestellt werden. Dabei entstehen individuelle Abweichungen der Vorstellung des Szenarios.

"Wir haben nun die Möglichkeit, die extremsten Situationen realitätsgetreu zu trainieren."

DI Dr. Helmut Aschbacher, MBA, Österreichisches Rotes Kreuz

Solution

Der digitale Zwilling

Die Nutzung von Virtual Reality war ein fixer und wichtiger Bestandteil für die Projektumsetzung. Bei der DBX konnten bei einem zeitlich limitierten virtuellen Hubschrauber-Überflug die Kommandanten der unterschiedlichen Teams sich selbst ein Lagebild verschaffen. Danach fanden sich alle Einheiten wieder im Großen ein und planten mit einem klareren gemeinsamen Lagebild die taktische Fortführung des Einsatzes. Durch das immersive Erlebnis wurde die realistische Koordination der Spezialeinheiten gefördert und Fragen wie zum Beispiel: Wo ist die Frischwasseraufbereitung am besten platziert? Welche Strukturen sind stark betroffen? Oder wo befinden sich andere mögliche Gefahren für die Einsatzteams, konnten bestmöglich beantwortet werden. Des Weiteren befundeten die USAR-Teams eingestürzte Gebäude, um ihre Maßnahmen festzulegen.

 

Bei der DBX und FBX vor Ort in Eisenerz bot die virtuelle Realität zusätzlich eine Unterstützung für die mediale Bespielung der Social Media Teams dar. Mit News-Berichten aus dem Schauplatz, Social Media Injects der Bevölkerung etc. setze man die Kommunikationsteams der lokalen Kräfte unter Druck.

Outcome

Perfekte Ergänzung durch Extended Reality

Komplexe internationale Prozesse wie der UCPM (Union Civil Protection Mechanism) müssen, damit diese im Ernstfall auch wirklich funktionieren, länderübergreifend geübt werden. Mit dem digitalen Zwilling von Eisenerz als Erdbebengebiet bekommt man eine visuell idente Lage für alle Übungsteilnehmern und kann so immersiver mit der gleichen Vorstellung an die Szenarien heranzugehen. 

 

Das theoretische Wissen der Mechanismen wurde so bei der DBX erprobt, getestet, verbessert und dann bei der FBX in Real vor Ort nochmals getestet.

Learn how XRCONSOLE transform your way of training

Kontaktieren Sie unser Expertenteam und vereinbaren Sie einen kostenlosen Beratungstermin.