Tactical operational training on the new U5 subway line in Berlin

The Berlin Fire Department trains operational scenarios in the new U5 subway line using a combination of VR and XVR technology.

Key Benefits

Realistic training of extreme situations

Extended reality environments, full immersive learning experience.

More effective and efficient training

Cost reduction through training in a virtual environment.

Measurable results & feedback

Repeated training with measurable results and direct feedback.

Challenge

The real training environment is lacking

Training for a wide variety of incidents is an important part of training and continuing education for emergency response organizations. It is important to be prepared for any situation that may occur. Due to the complexity and effort involved, large-scale emergency scenarios are usually trained using simulation exercises. Although this analogue form of exercise deals with operational tactics, it is often difficult for the trainees to grasp because the real experience, i.e. training in a realistic environment, does not take place.

"We now have the ability to realistically train environments and scenarios without interrupting real operations."

Boris Topol, Berlin Fire Department & Rescue Academy BFRA

Solution

The digital transformation of operational training

The Berlin Fire Department has initiated the digital transformation of training scenarios and, in cooperation with the Berlin transport authorities, has launched a VR tactics simulator for the new U5 subway line.

Using XVRSim and the extensive library of scenarios and objects – avatars, vehicles, hazard elements, buildings – in combination with the U5 XVR environment developed by XRCONSOLE, the Berlin Fire Department can train operational scenarios of the new subway section up close and interactively in the BFRA (Berlin Fire and Rescue Academy) more effectively and efficiently.

Outcome

An immersive training experience that is effective and efficient

With the training simulator, it is now possible to access and train 24/7 on the U5 subway line. Numerous operational scenarios, such as fires and explosions, can be trained realistically. 

The training of actions in extreme situations is essential for major incidents and must be trained and consolidated several times. With the VR training environment, it is now possible to repeat individual scenarios as often as desired. The learning and training progress is measured and the trainers have the possibility to coach the trainees in the best possible way.

Learn how XRCONSOLE transform your way of training

Contact our expert team to arrange a free consultation.

Taktisches Einsatztraining in der neuen U-Bahn Linie U5 in Berlin

Die Berliner Feuerwehr trainiert Einsatzszenarien in der neuen U-Bahn Linie U5 in Kombination von VR- und XVR-Technologie.

Key Benefits

Realitätsgetreues trainieren von Extremsituationen

Mittels Extended Reality Umgebung, volles immersives Lernerlebnis.

Effektiveres und effizienteres Training

Kostenreduktion durch Training in der virtuellen Umgebung.

Messbare Ergebnisse & Feedback

Wiederholtes Training mit messbaren Ergebnissen und direktem Feedback.

Challenge

Es fehlt an der realen Trainingsumgebung

Das Training von verschiedensten Ereignissen ist bei Einsatzorganisationen ein wichtiger Bestandteil von Ausbildung und Weiterbildung. Es gilt stets auf jede einzutretende Situation bestmöglich vorbereitet zu sein. Großschadensfall Szenarien werden aufgrund der Komplexität und Aufwandsintensität in den meisten Fällen per Planspiel trainiert. Diese analoge Übungsform behandelt zwar die Einsatztaktik, ist jedoch für die Trainierenden oft schwer greifbar, da das reale Erlebnis, sprich das Training in einer realitätsgetreuen Umgebung nicht stattfindet.

"Wir haben nun die Möglichkeit, Umgebungen und Szenarien realitätsgetreu zu trainieren, ohne den Realbetrieb zu unterbrechen."

Boris Topol, Berliner Feuerwehr- und Rettungsdienst-Akademie BFRA

Solution

Die digitale Transformation des Einsatztrainings

Die Berliner Feuerwehr hat aus diesem Grund die digitale Transformation von Trainingsszenarien eingeläutet und in Kooperation mit den Berliner Verkehrsbtrieben, einen VR-Einsatztaktiksimulator, der neue U-Bahn Linie U5 ins Leben gerufen.

 

Mittels XVRSim und der umfangreichen Bibliothek an Szenarien und Objekten – Avatare, Fahrzeuge, Gefahrenelemente, Gebäude – kann die Berliner Feuerwehr in Kombination mit der von XRCONSOLE entwickelten U5 XVR-Umgebung, Einsatzszenarien des neuen U-Bahn-Abschnitts hautnah und interaktiv in der BFRA (Berliner Feuerwehr und Rettungsakademie) effektiver und effizienter trainieren.

Outcome

Ein immersives Trainingserlebnis das effektiv und effizient ist

Mit dem Trainingssimulator ist es nun möglich, 24/7 auf die U-Bahn Linie U5 zuzugreifen und zu trainieren. Es können zahlreiche Einsatzszenarien, wie zum Beispiel Brände und Explosionen realitätsgetreu trainiert werden. 

 

Das Training von Handlungen in Extremsituationen ist Großschadensfällen essenziell und muss einige Male trainiert und gefestigt werden. Mit der VR-Trainingsumgebung besteht nun die Möglichkeit, beliebig oft einzelne Szenarien zu wiederholen. Dabei wird der Lern- und Trainingsfortschritt gemessen und die Ausbildner haben die Möglichkeit, die zu Trainierenden bestmöglich zu coachen.

Learn how XRCONSOLE transform your way of training

Kontaktieren Sie unser Expertenteam und vereinbaren Sie einen kostenlosen Beratungstermin.